Big cannabis news out of Sacramento today, as the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) kicked off a health information and education campaign about what’s legal in California and potential health impacts of cannabis use.
The Medicinal and Adult Use of Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act (MAUCRSA) makes it legal for adults 21 and over to possess, consume, and cultivate cannabis in California. Sale of cannabis from licensed retail outlets will become legal January 1, 2018.
Below, we’ve broken down some of the highlights of the California Department of Public Health’s launch of their statewide public education campaign, but you can also visit the California Department of Public Health’s Let’s Talk Cannabis page here.
What’s legal? If you’re 21 or older, you can buy and possess up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis and up to eight grams of concentrated cannabis. You can only buy cannabis at licensed, retail outlets.
Where can you use cannabis? You can use cannabis on private property, but you cannot use, smoke, eat, or vape cannabis in public places.
Growing Your Own Cannabis - Know your local personal cultivation laws - your local city or county can pass laws that might limit or differ in ways from the general California state laws about personal cultivation.
Cannabis and Cars Don’t Mix - It is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis. You’re putting your life and the lives of others at risk if you drive a vehicle under the influence. It is illegal to possess an open container of cannabis in a vehicle.
Cannabis and Federal Land Don’t Mix - It is illegal to use or possess cannabis on federal lands (like National Parks), even if they are inside the state of California.
Keep it in California! It is illegal to cross state lines with cannabis. Yes, even to another state where cannabis is legal.
Cannabis Use Impacts on Youth - The California Department of Health provides information about the scientific basis for restricting access of cannabis and cannabis products for persons under the age of 21 years.
Minors, Parents, and Mentors can access information about cannabis use effects on the brain, body, and potential impacts to goals, in addition to resources on how to discuss cannabis issues.
Hey, Mister! Don’t do it. It is illegal to provide access to cannabis to persons under the age of 21 years.
Cannabis Use While Pregnant or Breastfeeding - Department of Public Health has developed fact sheets with cannabis health information, including information about why cannabis use is not recommended for women that are pregnant or breastfeeding.